Trust No One (Vista Security Book 2)

Trust No One (Vista Security Book 2) Rating:
List Price: unavailable
Sale Price: Too low to display.
Availability: unspecified

Product Description

Filled with a fascinating mystery and intriguing characters, Layne follows up her explosive suspense debut, The Good Daughter, with this strong second effort. The book's hero is the perfect blend of alpha and sensitive, and the heroine's situation elicits sympathy without being overly grim. The ending leaves some threads dangling that readers will look forward to following in future novels. ~Susan Mobley RT Book Reviews***When reality is a web of lies and the truth endangers all you hold dear...Trust No One.Drafted into the nebulous underworld of a secret agent right after college, MJ Thornberg survived betrayal and attempted murder at the hands of her trusted partner. Instead of returning to the deadly realm of espionage, she chose to retire to a small Texas town and work as a mechanic while raising her soon-to-be-adopted baby daughter.Ben Walker is a man with his own secrets. An agent with MJ's former employer, Vista Security, Ben is clawing his way out of a downward spiral from a job gone wrong when Vista sends him after MJ, with orders to use the threat of halting her baby's adoption to ensure her cooperation.Furious and trusting no one, MJ intends on working the job solo until a sniper's bullet alters her plans. With no choice but to work with Ben, MJ must confront ghosts from her past, discover truths of her present, and trust that the future she deserves is in her hands to create. ****EXCERPT:Betrayed . . . "Who you working for, Keith?" "No need for you to know," the man behind her said. He poked his revolver into her back. "You're gonna be dead." She ignored him and focused on Keith. "How much money? Who's the target?" "Stalling, MJ?  Afraid to die?" "I knew the risks going in.  So did you.  But what about the innocent people who'll die if you sell that information?" "Sorry, baby, but I don't have time to debate philosophy." The sound of a distant engine made Keith pause and tilt his head to listen. "That would be the extraction team," he said. MJ tightened every muscle, ready to spring.  It well could be his team, but it could as easily be hers. Even if she wasn't in position for the original pick-up, she'd sewed a small tracking device in that backpack.   "No time for long good-byes."  He raised the gun. Now or never.****Each Vista Security book is stand alone but if you'd like to read in order:The Good Daughter (Vista Security Origins Book 1)Trust No One (Vista Security Book 2)Edge Of Trust (Vista Security Book 3)Forced To Trust (Coming Soon)and for fans of The Good Daughter:Nia, Be Mine (Coming Soon)416 pages, 123,500 words

Details

No features available.

Trust No One (Vista Security Book 2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 315 ratings. 228 user reviews
Expired Deals Trust No One (Vista Security Book 2) Filled with a fascinating mystery and intriguing characters, Layne follows up her explosive suspense debut, The Good Daughter, with this strong second effort. The book's hero is the perfect blend of alpha and sensitive, and the heroine's situation elicits sympathy without being overly grim. The ending leaves some threads dangling that readers will look forward to following in future novels. ~Susan Mobley RT Book Reviews***When reality is a web of lies and the truth endangers all you hold dear...Trust No One.Drafted into the nebulous underworld of a secret agent right after college, MJ Thornberg survived betrayal and attempted murder at the hands of her trusted partner. Instead of returning to the deadly realm of espionage, she chose to retire to a small Texas town and work as a mechanic while raising her soon-to-be-adopted baby daughter.Ben Walker is a man with his own secrets. An agent with MJ's former employer, Vista Security, Ben is clawing his way out of a downward spiral from a job gone wrong when Vista sends him after MJ, with orders to use the threat of halting her baby's adoption to ensure her cooperation.Furious and trusting no one, MJ intends on working the job solo until a sniper's bullet alters her plans. With no choice but to work with Ben, MJ must confront ghosts from her past, discover truths of her present, and trust that the future she deserves is in her hands to create. ****EXCERPT:Betrayed . . . "Who you working for, Keith?" "No need for you to know," the man behind her said. He poked his revolver into her back. "You're gonna be dead." She ignored him and focused on Keith. "How much money? Who's the target?" "Stalling, MJ?  Afraid to die?" "I knew the risks going in.  So did you.  But what about the innocent people who'll die if you sell that information?" "Sorry, baby, but I don't have time to debate philosophy." The sound of a distant engine made Keith pause and tilt his head to listen. "That would be the extraction team," he said. MJ tightened every muscle, ready to spring.  It well could be his team, but it could as easily be hers. Even if she wasn't in position for the original pick-up, she'd sewed a small tracking device in that backpack.   "No time for long good-byes."  He raised the gun. Now or never.****Each Vista Security book is stand alone but if you'd like to read in order:The Good Daughter (Vista Security Origins Book 1)Trust No One (Vista Security Book 2)Edge Of Trust (Vista Security Book 3)Forced To Trust (Coming Soon)and for fans of The Good Daughter:Nia, Be Mine (Coming Soon)416 pages, 123,500 words http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41y662UQFoL._SL160_.jpg
http://indiebookoftheday.com/trust-no-one-vista-security/

Comments

comments