The Long Shadow

The Long Shadow Rating:
List Price: unavailable
Sale Price: Too low to display.
Availability: unspecified

Product Description

The Long Shadow is compelling historical novel which tells the human story of the Allied campaign in Salonika during WW! and will appeal to readers of The Island and The Thread.Fourteen-year-old Andrew discovers his mother's hidden diary at his grandmother's home during a Christmas gathering. His eyes are opened to a family secret when he reads about her time as a nurse in Salonika during the First World War, and the tragic love affair she had with his father, a Greek Officer who died in battle. Four years later, Andrew is impelled to visit his father's land and trace his roots. What - and who - he finds there will change his life forever.The Long Shadow is filled with descriptions of Greece and its people. Dramatic images of battle and the terrible conditions endured by the Allied Armies entrenched around Salonika in the “Birdcage” are authentic and vivid. Greek music and dance play a vital role, reconciling in Andrew the dichotomy of belonging to two very different cultures and helping him to unite them in his heart and soul.'I'm immensely impressed by the novel, especially the Greek scenes. It's a marvellously accomplished book. Many congratulations on your achievement.'Colin Wilson: renowned author of The Outsider, The Occult, Mysteries and many more)An unusual love story set in a remarkable place at a time that tore the world apart. Barbara Nadel: author of the Inspector Ikmen series set in Turkey

Details

No features available.

The Long Shadow 4.4 out of 5 based on 48 ratings. 228 user reviews
Bargain Book Finds The Long Shadow The Long Shadow is compelling historical novel which tells the human story of the Allied campaign in Salonika during WW! and will appeal to readers of The Island and The Thread.Fourteen-year-old Andrew discovers his mother's hidden diary at his grandmother's home during a Christmas gathering. His eyes are opened to a family secret when he reads about her time as a nurse in Salonika during the First World War, and the tragic love affair she had with his father, a Greek Officer who died in battle. Four years later, Andrew is impelled to visit his father's land and trace his roots. What - and who - he finds there will change his life forever.The Long Shadow is filled with descriptions of Greece and its people. Dramatic images of battle and the terrible conditions endured by the Allied Armies entrenched around Salonika in the “Birdcage” are authentic and vivid. Greek music and dance play a vital role, reconciling in Andrew the dichotomy of belonging to two very different cultures and helping him to unite them in his heart and soul.'I'm immensely impressed by the novel, especially the Greek scenes. It's a marvellously accomplished book. Many congratulations on your achievement.'Colin Wilson: renowned author of The Outsider, The Occult, Mysteries and many more)An unusual love story set in a remarkable place at a time that tore the world apart. Barbara Nadel: author of the Inspector Ikmen series set in Turkey http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/5154pKvjzPL._SL160_.jpg
http://indiebookoftheday.com/the-long-shadow-3/

Comments

comments