Betty's Child

Betty's Child Rating:
List Price: unavailable
Sale Price: Too low to display.
Availability: unspecified

Product Description

In the tradition of Frank McCourt and Angela's Ashes, Donald Dempsey chronicles one boy's ordeals with poverty, religion, and physical and mental abuse as he attempts to come of age with only his street smarts and sense of humor to guide him. Twelve-year-old Donny is a real-life cross between Huckleberry Finn and Holden Caulfield. Donny is doing his best to navigate the world he shares with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, churchgoers who want to save Donny's soul, and a best friend who wants Donny to go to work for a dangerous local thug doing petty theft and dealing drugs. Donny does everything he can to take care of himself and his younger brothers, but with each new development, the present becomes more fraught with peril--and the future more uncertain.

Details

No features available.

Betty's Child 4.6 out of 5 based on 215 ratings. 228 user reviews
Bargain Book Finds Betty's Child In the tradition of Frank McCourt and Angela's Ashes, Donald Dempsey chronicles one boy's ordeals with poverty, religion, and physical and mental abuse as he attempts to come of age with only his street smarts and sense of humor to guide him. Twelve-year-old Donny is a real-life cross between Huckleberry Finn and Holden Caulfield. Donny is doing his best to navigate the world he shares with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, churchgoers who want to save Donny's soul, and a best friend who wants Donny to go to work for a dangerous local thug doing petty theft and dealing drugs. Donny does everything he can to take care of himself and his younger brothers, but with each new development, the present becomes more fraught with peril--and the future more uncertain. http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51No6fXbFSL._SL160_.jpg
http://indiebookoftheday.com/bettys-child-3/

Comments

comments